|Rent Increase Facts
Does Kansas Have Rent Control Laws?
Kansas does not have rent control laws limiting the amount landlords may ask for. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws .
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Kansas?
Landlords in Kansas can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Give reasonable notice
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
60 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant of a mobile home a notice that rent will increase by 2% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Kansas?
Landlords in Kansas may not raise the rent if:
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as requesting a repair. This is known as “retaliation” .
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Kansas?
Landlords in Kansas can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Kansas?
In Kansas, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days written notice to increase the rent . However, if the rental unit is a mobile home, the landlord must give 60 days’ written notice .
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Kansas?
In Kansas, landlords can raise the rent by any amount and for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease, and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.