|Max / Limit||None|
|Notice Requirement||7, 30 or 60 Days|
Does Nebraska Have Rent Control?
No, Nebraska does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent. State law does not prohibit local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, landlords can raise the rent by any amount and for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease, and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as it is not discriminatory or retaliatory in nature and proper notice is given.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term, for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age) or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant filing a complaint).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
Nebraska law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.
Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:
- Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give at least 7, 30, or 60 days’ notice before increasing rent:
- 7 days’ notice: Week-to-week tenants
- 30 days’ notice: Month-to-month tenants
- 60 days’ notice: Mobile home tenants
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Nebraska?
Landlords in Nebraska can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
- 1 NRS § 76-1439
…a landlord may not retaliate by increasing rent…Source Link
- 2 NRS § 76-1411
Every duty under the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act…imposes an obligation of good faith in its performance or enforcement.Source Link
- 3 NRS § 76-1437
The landlord or the tenant may terminate a week-to-week tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least seven days prior to the termination date specified in the notice.Source Link
- 4 NRS § 76-1437
The landlord or the tenant may terminate a month-to-month tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least thirty days prior to the periodic rental date specified in the notice.Source Link
- 5 NRS § 76-1490
Each tenant shall be notified in writing of any rent increase by actual notice or by United States mail at least sixty days prior to the effective date of the increase.Source Link