Does Iowa Have Rent Control Laws?
Iowa does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Iowa?
Landlords in Iowa can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
- Give reasonable notice
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by 3% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Iowa?
Landlords in Iowa may not raise the rent if:
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. This is known as “retaliation” .
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
Cities and towns may have additional protection from discrimination for renters. Be sure to check your local ordinance to determine if there are any housing discrimination laws.
In Des Moines , landlords are prohibited from discriminating against the tenants’ source of income.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Iowa?
Landlords in Iowa can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Iowa?
In Iowa, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days written notice to increase the rent.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Iowa?
In Iowa, landlords can raise the rent by any amount they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.