|Max / Limit||None (except in some cities)|
|Notice Requirement||Equal to Frequency of Rental Payments|
Does Minnesota Have Rent Control?
No, Minnesota does not have statewide rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent. However, state law allows local governments to establish their own rent control laws as long as they are approved through a general election.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Minnesota?
By state law, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no statewide limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase. However, cities and counties can establish their own rent control laws, like in Minneapolis and St. Paul.
Minneapolis: In 2021, the citizens of Minneapolis voted to authorize City Council to establish rent control. The City Council formed a Rent Stabilization Work Group, which is working to bring a rent control proposal to voters in 2023.
St. Paul: Rent increases are limited to 3%, for new or existing tenants, with exceptions. Landlords can request a Rent Increase Exception to exceed the limit for a new tenant. The Department of Safety and Inspections may approve a greater rent increase of up to 8% plus the rate of inflation.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Minnesota?
In Minnesota, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Minnesota?
In Minnesota, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant filing a complaint).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
Minnesota law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.
Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant action, such as:
- Filing a complaint with the landlord or appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Exercising a right granted by law or the lease agreement
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Minnesota?
In Minnesota, the notice period required to increase rent is equal to the frequency of rent payments (but no more than 3 months), unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement. For example, if a tenant pays rent monthly, they must be given 1 month’s notice before increasing rent.
However, landlords must give mobile home residents 60 days’ notice before increasing rent.
The effective date of the notice is the day it is received.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Minnesota?
By state law, landlords in Minnesota can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time, except for mobile homes. Landlords of mobile home spaces can only increase the rent twice per year.
- 1 MN Stat § 471.9996
No statutory or home rule charter city, county, or town may adopt or renew by ordinance or otherwise any law to control rents…does not preclude…controlling rents on private residential property…approved in a general election…Source Link
- 2 St. Paul Code of Ord. § 193A.04
No landlord shall demand, charge, or accept from a tenant a rent increase…in excess of three (3) percent of the existing monthly rent…Source Link
- 3 MN Stat § 504B.285
In any proceeding for the recovery of premises upon the ground of nonpayment of rent, it is a defense if the tenant establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that the plaintiff increased the tenant’s rent…as a penalty in whole or part for any lawful act of the tenant…Source Link
- 4 MN Stat § 504B.135
A tenancy at will may be terminated by either party by giving notice in writing. The time of the notice must be at least as long as the interval between the time rent is due or three months, whichever is less.Source Link
- 5 MN Stat § 327C.06
No increase in the amount of the periodic rental payment due from a resident shall be valid unless the park owner gives the resident 60 days’ written notice of the increase.Source Link
- 6 MN Stat § 327C.06
A park owner may impose only two rent increases on a resident in any 12-month period.Source Link