Michigan Rent Increase Laws

Michigan Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 6, 2023 by Ashley Porter

Quick Facts Answer
Reason Needed No
Max / Limit None
Notice Requirement No Statute

Does Michigan Have Rent Control?

No, Michigan does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Michigan?

In Michigan, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.

However, state law prevents landlords from charging rent that is “grossly in excess” of rent for similar properties.

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Michigan?

In Michigan, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Michigan?

In Michigan, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant requesting repairs).

The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:

  • Age
  • Race
  • Gender (including gender identity)
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion
  • Nationality or origin
  • Familial status
  • Disability

Michigan law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does.

If a judge finds that a landlord attempted to evict a tenant within 90 days of a tenant action, they will not approve the eviction request if the tenant’s failure to agree to a rent increase is the only grounds for eviction.

Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant action, such as:

  • Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
  • Exercising a right granted by law or the lease agreement
  • Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
  • Requesting repairs

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Michigan?

Michigan law does not require a specific notice period before raising the rent, in most situations.

Even though Michigan law typically has no minimum notice period, it still requires that landlords act fairly, meaning that they should give the tenant reasonable notice when increasing rent. The one-month notice period required for the termination of a lease is typically used as reasonable notice for a rent increase.

Landlords may include a provision in the lease agreement that allows rent increases during the lease term with at least 30 days’ notice, due to an increase in:

  • Utility costs
  • Property taxes
  • Liability, fire, or worker compensation insurance premiums

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Michigan?

Landlords in Michigan can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as reasonable notice is provided each time.

Sources