Does Ohio Have Rent Control Laws?
Ohio does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords request. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Ohio?
Landlords in Ohio can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Give reasonable notice
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by 2.5% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Ohio?
Landlords in Ohio may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union. This is known as “retaliation” .
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
In addition to the characteristics above, state law prohibits discrimination in housing due to military status.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Ohio?
Landlords in Ohio can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as reasonable notice is provided each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Ohio?
Ohio law does not require a specific notice period before raising the rent. However, the law still requires that parties to a contract act in good faith, meaning that a landlord should give the tenant reasonable notice when increasing rent.
The 30-day notice period required for the termination of a month-to-month lease is typically used as reasonable notice for a rent increase.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Ohio?
In Ohio, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.