|Max / Limit||None|
|Notice Requirement||No Statute|
Does Illinois Have Rent Control?
No, Illinois does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Illinois?
In Illinois, landlords can raise rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Illinois?
In Illinois, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory reasons.
Although Illinois landlords are always required to act in good faith, the state law is silent on landlord retaliation. However, in some cities in Illinois, local laws specifically prevent landlords from raising rent in retaliation.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Illinois?
In Illinois, landlords cannot raise rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant requesting repairs).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
In addition to the characteristics above, Chicago’s Fair Housing Regulations also prohibit discrimination due to military status and source of income. Check your local laws for housing discrimination rules that apply in your area.
In some cities, the local law specifically prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. For example, in Chicago, an action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs within one year after something a tenant does.
Rent increases in Chicago are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:
- Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Seeking the assistance of a community organization or news media to remedy a violation
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
- Testifying in court regarding the premises
- Exercising any legal right or remedy
- Requesting repairs
Although most states have laws protecting tenants from rent increases due to retaliation, Illinois retaliation law currently only covers evictions and lease renewals.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Illinois?
Unlike most other states, Illinois law does not require a specific notice period before raising rent, but cities may enact their own notice requirements, like in Chicago.
In Chicago, unless the rental unit is exempt, landlords that intend to increase rent are required to give tenants written notice before the end of the lease term as follows:
- 30-day notice for a lease term shorter than six months
- 60-day notice for a lease term between six months to three years
- 120-day notice for a lease term longer than three years
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Illinois?
Landlords in Illinois can increase rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time.
- 1 50 ILCS 825/5
A unit of local government…shall not enact, maintain, or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would have the effect of controlling the amount of rent charged…Source Link
- 2 Chicago Mun. Code § 5-8-030
It shall be an unfair housing practice and unlawful for any owner, lessee…having the right to sell, rent, lease…To make any distinction, discrimination or restriction against any person…military status or source of income…Source Link
- 3 Chicago Mun. Code § 5-12-150
…if there is evidence of tenant conduct protected herein within one year prior to the alleged act of retaliation, that evidence shall create a rebuttable presumption that the landlord’s conduct was retaliatory.Source Link
- 4 Chicago Mun. Code § 5-12-130
…the following notice requirements shall apply…tenancy of less than six months…30 days…tenancy of six months to three years…60 days…tenancy greater than three years…120 days…Source Link