Does North Dakota Have Rent Control Laws?
North Dakota does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords ask for rent. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws .
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in North Dakota?
Landlords in North Dakota can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Give reasonable notice
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by $75 per month if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in North Dakota?
Landlords in North Dakota may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. This is known as “retaliation.”
North Dakota law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation because a tenant or a member of their household previously exercised their legal right to terminate a lease due to domestic violence .
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in North Dakota?
Landlords in North Dakota can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time except for some mobile homes in specific situations.
The rent cannot be increased within 6 months after the sale of a mobile home if the tenancy is month-to-month and the rent was increased within 60 days before the sale of the mobile home park .
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in North Dakota?
In North Dakota, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days’ notice to increase the rent .
However, if the rental unit is a mobile home and the tenancy is month-to-month, the landlord must give at least 90 days’ notice before a rent increase .
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in North Dakota?
In North Dakota, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.