|Rent Increase Facts
Does Montana Have Rent Control Laws?
Montana does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may charge for rent. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws .
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Montana?
Landlords in Montana can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
- Give reasonable notice
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by 3.5% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Montana?
Landlords in Montana may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as organizing a tenants’ group or union. This is known as “retaliation” .
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
The Montana Fair Housing Act also prohibits discrimination due to creed, age, and marital status.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Montana?
Landlords in Montana can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Montana?
In Montana, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term. They must also provide sufficient notice as follows:
- Month-to-month tenants – 30 days’ notice
- Week-to-week tenants – 7 days’ notice
Landlords do not need to provide a reason for the rent increase on the notice letter. When the tenant receives the notice, they may choose to enter a new lease at a higher rate or move out.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Montana?
In Montana, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.