|Max / Limit||None|
|Notice Requirement||30 or 90 Days|
Does Idaho Have Rent Control?
No, Idaho does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Idaho?
In Idaho, landlords can raise the rent by any amount and for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease, and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory reasons.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Idaho?
In Idaho, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as it is not discriminatory in nature and proper notice is given.
Idaho law requires that rent increases on mobile homes be applied evenly to all tenants living in similar units throughout the community.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Idaho?
In Idaho, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term or for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
If the rental unit is a mobile home, Idaho law prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.
Rent increases on mobile home tenants are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:
- Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Complaining to the landlord regarding the maintenance or condition of the community, rent charged, or rules
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group, union, or community association
- Hiring a lawyer to represent them
Idaho state law does not address retaliatory rent increases for other types of rental units.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Idaho?
In Idaho, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days’ notice to increase the rent. However, if the rental unit is a mobile home, the landlord must give 90 days’ notice.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Idaho?
Landlords in Idaho can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time, unless the rental unit is a mobile home.
Landlords of mobile homes can increase the rent no more than once every six months.
- 1 ID Code § 55-307
A local governmental unit shall not enact, maintain, or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would have the effect of controlling the amount of rent charged for leasing private residential property.Source Link
- 2 ID Code § 55-2006
Rental increases shall be uniform throughout the community. When rents within a community are structured by reason of lot or home size, amenities, lot location or otherwise, rental increases shall be uniform among all homes in the same rent tier.Source Link
- 3 ID Code § 55-2015
The landlord shall not…increase rent…as retaliation against the resident…
- 4 ID Code § 55-2002
Every duty under this chapter and every act which must be performed as a condition precedent to the exercise of a right or remedy under this chapter imposes an obligation of good faith in its performance or enforcement.Source Link
- 5 ID Code § 55-307
…the landlord shall provide the tenant written notice of any increase in the amount of rent charged…at least thirty (30) days before…such increase in the amount of rent charged is intended to take effect.Source Link
- 6 ID Code § 55-2006
A landlord may increase or decrease rents after expiration of the lease term, but only with ninety (90) days’ written notice to the residents. Such written notice shall be sent by first class mail, certified mail or personal delivery.Source Link
- 7 ID Code § 55-2006
The landlord may not amend the rental agreement or rules more frequently than once in a six (6) month period.