Does Oklahoma Have Rent Control Laws?
Oklahoma does not have rent control laws limiting the amount landlords request. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Oklahoma?
Landlords in Oklahoma can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Give reasonable notice
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by $50 if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Oklahoma?
Landlords in Oklahoma may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. Oklahoma law also prevents landlords from increasing rent if they discover or suspect that the tenant is a victim of domestic violence, sexual violence, or stalking. This is known as “retaliation” .
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Oklahoma?
Landlords in Oklahoma can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as reasonable notice is provided each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma law does not require a specific notice period before raising the rent. However, it still requires that landlords act in good faith, meaning they should give the tenant reasonable notice when increasing rent.
The 30-day notice period required for terminating a month-to-month lease is typically used as reasonable notice for a rent increase.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.