Does Utah Have Rent Control Laws?
Utah does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords request. State law prohibits local governments from establishing rent control laws.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Utah?
Landlords in Utah can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
- Give reasonable notice
15 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends a notice that rent will increase by 10% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Utah?
Landlords in Utah may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. This is known as “retaliation” .
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
In addition to the characteristics above, Utah’s Fair Housing Act also prohibits discrimination due to source of income .
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Utah?
Landlords in Utah can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Utah?
In Utah, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 15 days’ notice to increase the rent.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Utah?
In Utah, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.