In Alaska, there are no statewide rent control laws. Alaska law does provide for Home Rule in state constitution for First Class Cities & Boroughs. Alaska landlord-tenant laws are primarily governed by AL Code § 34.03.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||30 Days|
|Max. Late Fee||No Limit|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Alaska?
In Alaska a landlord may not raise rent during the term of a lease, unless the lease allows for a rent increase. However, a landlord may raise rent in the following circumstances (AK Stat § 34.03.310):
- There is a substantial increase in property taxes or a substantial increase in other maintenance/ operating costs.
- The landlord has made a capital improvement of the dwelling unit/property which the increase in rent does not exceed the amount that can be claimed for federal income tax purposes as a straight-line depreciation of the improvement.
- The landlord can establish evidence that the rent does not exceed the rent that is charged to other tenants of similar dwelling units in the building or the fair rental value of the rental unit.
If it is a periodic tenancy (i.e., month-to-month, week-to-week, etc.) the landlord may increase the rent with advance notice.
If there is no lease, the landlord can increase rent by any amount.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Alaska?
In Alaska a landlord may not seek to increase rent as a form of retaliation when a tenant exercises his/her tenant rights. Pursuant to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is also illegal for a landlord to seek to raise rent based on the tenant’s age, race, religion, nation of origin, disability status, or familial status.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Alaska?
Alaska provides no limit to rent increases.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Alaska?
A prior notice of rent increase is equivalent to a termination of the lease agreement at the old rate and an offer to rent the same unit at a higher rate. For month-to-month tenancies, a landlord must provide a minimum of a 30-Day Notice before increasing rent. (Alaska Landlord Tenant Act)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Alaska?
Alaska provides no legislation controlling the frequency of rent increases.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Alaska
There is no statute on how much a landlord can charge for a late fee. Late fee information must be in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Alaska
Landlords can charge an amount up to $30 for insufficient funds. Check fee information must be in the lease agreement.
Alaska Cities With Rent Control
Alaska does not have cities with rent-control.
Tenants who have housing subsidy or live in a Federal or State housing project might have additional rights. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation can control rent increase in housing where HUD has given a loan or rent guarantees to the owner.