In Connecticut, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by CGA §7-148b. This law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it (with proper notice).
|Rent Control||None (State Ban)|
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||Not Required|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||A tenant is not liable for insufficient funds.|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Connecticut?
A landlord may not increase the rent during the term of a lease, unless the lease has provisions to allow the landlord to do so. If the tenancy is through an oral lease or a month-to-month written lease, the landlord may increase rent on a monthly basis.
A landlord may increase the rent under the following circumstances:
- The tenant complained about a condition of the dwelling unit, and it was the tenant or tenant’s guest who caused the lack of due care.
- There is a substantial increase in property taxes.
- A substantial increase in maintenance or other operating costs.
- The increase in rent does not exceed the pro-rated portion of the net increase in taxes or costs. (CGS § 47a-20a).
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Connecticut?
A Connecticut landlord may not raise rent in retaliation when a tenant has notified the landlord or filed a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of a rental property. Rent cannot be raised within six months after the complaint was filed. (CGS § 47a-20)
It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent based on the race, color, sex, age Nation of origin, familial status, sexual orientation, or disability status of a tenant. (Connecticut Fair Housing)
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Connecticut?
There is no statute regarding rent increases.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Connecticut?
There is no notice requirement for an increase in rent; however, it is considered common practice to provide at least a 30 days’ written notice of the increase.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Connecticut?
If a tenant is renting on a month-to-month basis or if the lease is an oral agreement, the rent can be raised on a monthly basis. When there is a fixed-term lease, the rent may only be raised after the term of the lease has ended.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Connecticut
In Connecticut a landlord may not seek late charges for past due rent until after a minimum of 9 days for month-to-month tenants or in the case of a one-week tenancy within 4 days. (CGSA § 47a-15a)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Connecticut
Connecticut law indicates that a tenant is not liable to a landlord for civil damages when a rent check is returned for insufficient funds. (CGSA § 52-565a)
Connecticut Cities With Rent Control
The state of Connecticut has statutes in place from keeping the local municipalities from adopting ordinances controlling rent (CGS § 7-148b). However, Connecticut law does allow municipalities to establish commissions to investigate and eliminate excessive rental charges.
Any municipality in Connecticut has the authority to establish a Fair Rent Commission for the town or city. The Fair Rent Commission has the authority to receive, and review rent complaints and order landlords to reduce high rent costs for certain reasons. The Fair Rent Commission can also suspend rental payments if they find that the dwelling unit is not in compliance with the state health and safety requirements. The Commission has authority only within the boundaries of the city or town that has implemented the rent commission.
The Fair Rent Commission must follow the follow guidelines to determine if the rent that is being charged is considered as “harsh and unconscionable”:
- amount and frequency of rent increases;
- amount of taxes and overhead expenses, including debt service;
- bedroom size and number;
- repairs necessary to make the accommodations livable;
- number of bathtubs or showers, toilets, and sinks
- ;services, furniture, and furnishings;
- utility availability;
- rents for comparable units;
- sanitary conditions;
- compliance with state and local health and safety laws and regulations;
- renter’s income and housing availability;
- tenant damage to the premises, other than ordinary wear; and
- the degree to which income from the rent increase will be reinvested in property improvements.
If a tenant resides in a building consisting of five or more separate dwellings and is 62 years or older or an individual who has a mental or physical disability, they can bring forth action to Superior Court to contest a rent increase. (CGS § 47a-23c(c)).