|Max / Limit||None|
|Notice Requirement||30 or 60 Days|
Does Rhode Island Have Rent Control?
No, Rhode Island does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent. Although state law does not prohibit local governments from establishing their own rent control laws and some have made attempts, none have been successful.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, landlords can raise the rent by any amount and for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease, and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as it is not discriminatory or retaliatory in nature and proper notice is given.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, landlords cannot raise rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term, for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age) or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant requesting repairs).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
Rhode Island law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs within 6 months after something a tenant does. Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:
- Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
- Requesting repairs
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days’ notice to increase the rent. However, if the tenant is over 62 years old and on a month-to-month lease, the landlord must give 60 days’ notice.
Landlords do not need to provide a reason for the rent increase on the notice letter. When the tenant receives the notice, they may choose to enter a new lease at a higher rate or move out.
A sample Notice of Rent Increase letter is provided on our website.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Rhode Island?
Landlords in Rhode Island can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
- 1 RI Gen L § 34-18-46
In an action by or against the tenant, evidence of a complaint within six (6) months before the alleged act of retaliation creates a presumption that the landlord’s conduct was in retaliation.Source Link
- 2 RI Gen L § 34-18-16.1
Prior to an increase in rent being imposed by a landlord for a residential tenancy, notice of the increase shall be given in writing to any tenant by a landlord at least thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of the increase.Source Link
- 3 RI Gen L § 34-18-16.1
A landlord must give sixty (60) days notice to month to month tenants over the age of sixty-two (62), before raising the rent.Source Link