Does New Hampshire Have Rent Control Laws?
New Hampshire does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords request for rent. Case law prohibits local governments from establishing local rent control laws. (See Girard v. Town of Allenstown)
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in New Hampshire?
Landlords in New Hampshire can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:
- Give reasonable notice
- Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
- Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
30 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends the tenant a notice that rent will increase by 2.5% if they choose to renew the lease.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in New Hampshire?
Landlords in New Hampshire may not raise the rent if:
- It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
- It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as exercising a legal right. This is known as “retaliation” .
- The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in New Hampshire?
Landlords in New Hampshire can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days’ notice to increase the rent .
If the rental unit is a mobile home, the landlord must give 60 days’ notice , and the rent increase notice must include the following disclosure in 10-point bold-face print:
IF YOU OBJECT TO THIS RENT INCREASE AS ARBITRARY OR UNREASONABLE YOU MAY BE ABLE TO ENGAGE IN MEDIATION, WITH THE COST OF THE MEDIATOR TO BE FULLY PAID BY THE PARK OWNER, IF: AT LEAST ONE ADULT MEMBER OF NO LESS THAN 51 PERCENT OF THE HOME OWNERS IN THE PARK SIGNS A PETITION REQUESTING MEDIATION, and THE RENT INCREASE EXCEEDS $15 PER MONTH.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.