Vermont Rent Increase Laws

Vermont Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 10, 2024 by Jessica Menefee

Rent Increase Facts Answer
Reason Needed? No
Maximum Amount None
Required Notice 60 Days

Does Vermont Have Rent Control Laws?

Vermont does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords ask for. However, state law does not prohibit local governments from establishing rent control laws.

Read More

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Vermont?

Landlords in Vermont can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:

  • Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
  • Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
  • Give reasonable notice
  • Don’t break any rent control laws


60 days before the end of a year-long lease, a landlord sends a notice that rent will increase by 8.5% if they choose to renew the lease.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Vermont?

Landlords in Vermont may not raise the rent if:

  • It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).
  • The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
  • It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as a tenant complaining to the landlord regarding their obligations. This is known as “retaliation.
  • The increase is higher than what’s allowed under rent control laws.


In addition to the characteristics above, the Vermont Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to marital status, age, receipt of public assistance, or status as a victim of abuse.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Vermont?

Landlords in Vermont can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Vermont?

In Vermont, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 60 days’ notice to increase the rent . However, city laws may exceed the state requirement, like in Burlington, where landlords must give 90 days’ notice .


For mobile home tenants, landlords in Vermont must use the notice letter approved by the Department of Housing and Community Development . In 2023, if the rent increase exceeds 8.8%, the tenants are eligible for mediation.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Vermont?

In Vermont, landlords can raise the rent by any amount. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.


In January of 2023, House Bill 135 was introduced in the Vermont legislature. If passed, it will establish a statewide limitation on annual rent increases to 6% or the average rate of inflation.