In Hawaii, there is no rent control, and the state does not preempt rent control. If proper notice is given, landlords can set rent and increase it without restriction. Hawaii landlord-tenant law is primarily governed by HRS 521-21.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||45 Days or 15 Days|
|Max. Late Fee||8% of the amount of rent due|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Hawaii?
A landlord must abide by the rental rates and term of the lease. Rent may be increased once the lease has ended. Landlord-Tenant-Handbook
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Hawaii?
It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant having filed a complaint regarding the health or safety of the property (HRS § 521-74). A landlord is not in retaliation for increasing rent for the following reasons:
- Substantial increase in taxes or operating costs.
- The landlord has completed a capital improvement of the dwelling unit.
- The tenant’s complaint was because of a defect caused by the tenant.
- The landlord can provide evidence that the rent demand does not exceed the rent charged to the tenants of a similar dwelling unit in the building.
It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, gender, nation or origin, religion, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Hawaii?
Hawaii has no restrictions on the amount that rent can be increased.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Hawaii?
For a month-to-month tenancy a 45-Day Notice is required before increasing rent and for a tenancy that is less than a month, a 15-Day Notice is required. (HRS §521-21(d)(e))
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Hawaii?
Hawaii has no statute controlling how often rent may be increased so long as requirements regarding notice are followed.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Hawaii
A landlord can charge a late fee, but it must be disclosed in the lease agreement. The late fee cannot be more than 8% of the amount of rent that is due. (Haw. Rev. Stat. § 521-21(f))
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Hawaii
A landlord may charge a tenant up to $30 for a returned check.
Hawaii Cities With Rent Control
The state of Hawaii has no current laws regarding rent control and no statute preempting legislation regarding rent control.