In Maryland, there is no statewide rent control. Currently, certain cities and counties allow rent control. If proper notice is given, landlords can set rent and increase it. Maryland landlord-tenant law is primarily governed by Maryland Code § 8 -201 to 217.
|Rent Control||In Certain Cities|
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No State Statute; 60 Day (Takoma Park); or 90 Day (Montgomery County)|
|Max. Late Fee||5% of rent payment or if rent is paid weekly $3 per week or $12 per month|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$35|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Maryland?
There is no statewide rent control; however, certain cities in Maryland have their own governing laws regarding rent increases. Most renters will find information regarding the frequency, amounts, and procedures for rent increases in their lease. If there is no written lease, the landlord must provide written notice before raising rent.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Maryland?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, is illegal for rent to be raised based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status or a tenant.
It is also illegal for a Maryland landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Maryland?
The state of Maryland has no regulations regarding rent increases limit.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Maryland?
In Maryland, there is no specific statute of how much notice is needed for a rent increase; however, it is customary to provide at least 30 Days’ Notice.
Depending on the city and county, more notice may be required, for instance:
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Maryland?
The state provides no restrictions regarding how often landlords can increase rent. This may vary by city.
Takoma Park allows an increase once every 12-month period. The allowance must be equal to the annual increase in the Consumer Price index for the Washington/Baltimore region.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Maryland
The state of Maryland specifies that late fees cannot exceed 5% of the rental amount. (Md Real Property Code 8-208 (d) (3) If rent is paid on a weekly basis, a late penalty cannot exceed $3 per week or no more than $12 per month.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Maryland
In Maryland, a landlord can collect up to $35 for a bounced check and must be written in the lease agreement. (MD Code Comm. Law. § 15-802)
Maryland Cities With Rent Control
- There is no statewide rent control; however, certain cities in Maryland have their own governing laws regarding rent increases.
- Although Montgomery County has no rent control, it stipulates that a landlord must provide a written 90-Day Notice before a rent increase, and limits the number of increases to once a year. The county also issues an annual recommendation for rental rates based on the Consumer Price Index for the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Area.
- Takoma Park publishes an annual rent stabilization allowance which informs Takoma Park landlords of the maximum amount they may increase rent (Takoma Park Rent Stabilization law Chapter 6-20).