Virginia Rent Increase Laws

Virginia Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 11, 2023 by Ashley Porter

Quick Facts Answer
Reason Needed No
Max / Limit None
Notice Requirement 7 or 30 Days

Does Virginia Have Rent Control?

No, Virginia does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law does not prohibit local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Virginia?

In Virginia, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Virginia?

In Virginia, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Virginia?

In Virginia, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant joining a union).

The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:

  • Age
  • Race
  • Gender (including gender identity)
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion
  • Nationality or origin
  • Familial status
  • Disability

Additionally, Virginia’s Fair Housing Law prohibits discrimination due to:

  • Source of income
  • Military status

Virginia law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.

Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant action, such as:

  • Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
  • Making a complaint to the landlord
  • Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
  • Testifying in court against the landlord

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Virginia?

In Virginia, landlords must givenotice at least:

  • 30 days before the rent due date on a month-to-month lease
  • 7 days before the rent due date on a week-to-week lease

Landlords cannot increase the rent during the lease term unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement. If there is a year lease without a rent increase provision, the landlord must wait until the end of the lease term before increasing rent. There is no specific notice period required in this situation, but landlords are required to act in a reasonable way.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Virginia?

Landlords in Virginia can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time.

Sources