Does North Carolina Have Rent Control?
No, North Carolina does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory reasons.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement) or for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
North Carolina state law also prohibits discrimination due to actual or perceived status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.
Although most states have laws protecting tenants from rent increases due to retaliation, North Carolina’s retaliation law only prevents retaliatory evictions within 12 months of a tenant action. However, landlords are always required to act in good faith.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in North Carolina?
North Carolina law does not require a specific notice period before raising the rent. However, the law requires that parties to a contract act in good faith, meaning that a landlord should give the tenant reasonable notice when increasing rent.
The notice period required for the termination of a lease is typically used as reasonable notice for a rent increase as follows:
- Year-to-year lease – One month’s notice
- Month-to-month lease – 7 days’ notice
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in North Carolina?
Landlords in North Carolina can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as reasonable notice is provided each time.