A Delaware 45 Day Notice to Vacate is a legal letter written by the tenant and delivered to the landlord for the non-renewal of a lease. The notice shall be provided to the landlord at least forty five (45) calendar days before the expiration of the lease term.
When to Use a Delaware 45 Day Notice to Vacate
A Delaware 45 Day Notice to Vacate is prepared by the tenant and served to the landlord for the non-renewal of a lease. After receiving a notice to renew the lease from the landlord, if the tenant decides not to renew or accept amended lease provisions, the tenant may use this notice to terminate the tenancy.
How to Write a Delaware 45 Day Notice to Vacate
For a lease termination notice to be legally compliant:
- State who the legal letter is addressed to (use full name of the receiving party).
- Include the termination date of the lease or tenancy.
- Fill in the full address of the rental premises.
- Provide your new address and an updated phone number.
- Sign the notice and print your name.
- Complete the certificate of service by indicating the date and method of notice delivery along with printed name and signature.
Without this information on the lease termination notice, a judge may not be able to proceed with legal action.
How to Serve a Delaware 45 Day Notice to Vacate
A tenant may deliver the non-renewal of the lease notice in Delaware using any of the below acceptable methods:
- Handing the notice to the other party in person;
- Handing the notice to a person who can accept the legal letter on behalf of the other party;
- Mailing the notice by first class with a certificate of mailing or via certified or registered mail with a return receipt.
When sending the notice by first class, certified or registered mail, add three (3) additional calendar days to the notice period to account for variability in post office delivery times.
- 1 25 DE Code § 5107
§ 5107. Renewals of rental agreements with modifications.
(a) If the landlord intends to renew the rental agreement subject to amended or modified provisions, the landlord shall give the tenant a minimum of 60 days’ written notice prior to the expiration of the rental agreement that the agreement shall be renewed subject to amended or modified provisions, including, but not limited to, amended provisions relating to the length of term or the amount of security deposit or rent. Such notice shall specify the modified or amended provisions, the amount of any rent or security deposit and the date on which any modifications or amendments shall take effect.
(b) After receipt of such notice from the landlord, unless the tenant notifies the landlord of the tenant’s intention to terminate the existing rental agreement a minimum of 45 days prior to the last day of the term, the provisions of the amended or modified rental agreement shall be deemed to have been accepted and agreed to by the tenant, and the terms of the lease, as amended, shall take full force and effect.
(c) If the tenant rejects the modified terms or provisions set forth in a notice of renewal given under this section, then the rejected notice of renewal shall be considered an effective termination notice.Source Link
- 2 70 Del. Laws, c. 513, § 1
§ 5113. Service of notices or pleadings and process.
(a) Any notice or service of process required by this Code shall be served either personally upon the tenant or landlord or upon the tenant by leaving a copy thereof at the person’s rental unit or usual place of abode with an adult person residing therein; and upon the landlord by leaving a copy thereof at the landlord’s address as set forth in the lease or as otherwise provided by landlord with an adult person residing therein, or with an agent or other person in the employ of the landlord whose responsibility it is to accept such notice. If the landlord is an artificial entity, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 57, service of the notice or process may be made by leaving a copy thereof at its office or place of business as set forth in the lease with an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of process.
(b) In lieu of personal service or service by copy of the notice or process required by this Code, a copy of such notice or process may be sent by registered or certified mail or first-class mail as evidenced by a certificate of mailing postage-prepaid, addressed to the tenant at the leased premises, or to the landlord at the landlord’s business address as set forth in the lease or as otherwise provided by landlord, or if the landlord is an artificial entity, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 57, at its office or place of business. The return receipt of the notice, whether signed, refused or unclaimed, sent by registered or certified mail, or the certificate of mailing if sent by first-class mail, shall be held and considered to be prima facie evidence of the service of the notice or process.
(c) In the alternative, service of notice or process may also be obtained by 1 of the following 2 alternatives:
(1) Posting of the notice on the rental unit, when combined with a return receipt or certificate of mailing; or
(2) Personal service by a special process-server appointed by the Court.
- 3 Delaware Court Rules of Civil Procedure - Rule 6
Rule 6 (e) Additional time after service by mail. — Whenever a party has the right to or is required to do some act or take some proceeding within a prescribed period after being served and service is by mail, 3 days shall be added to the prescribed period. The additional 3-day period applies only to actions taken by parties and does not apply to actions taken by the Court.Source Link