A Florida 30 Day Notice to Vacate is a legal letter written by the landlord or the tenant to end a quarter-to-quarter tenancy. This notice is provided to either party at least thirty (30) calendar days before the end of any quarterly period.
When to Use a Florida 30 Day Notice to Vacate
A landlord or a tenant may use a Florida 30-Day Notice to Vacate to end a quarter-to-quarter arrangement in accordance with state law.
How to Write a Florida 30 Day Notice to Vacate
For a lease termination notice to be legally compliant:
- State who the legal letter is addressed to (use full name of the receiving party).
- Include the termination date of the lease or tenancy.
- Fill in the full address of the rental premises.
- For tenants, provide your new address and an updated phone number.
- Sign the notice and print your name.
- For landlords, include contact information, such as address and phone number.
- Complete the certificate of service by indicating the date and method of notice delivery along with printed name and signature.
Without this information on the lease termination notice, a judge may not be able to proceed with legal action.
How to Serve a Florida 30 Day Notice to Vacate
A landlord or a tenant may deliver lease termination notices in Florida using any of the below acceptable methods:
- Handing the notice to the other party in person;
- Handing the notice to a person who can accept the legal letter on behalf of the other party;
- Posting the notice in a conspicuous place and mailing the notice by certified or registered mail with a return receipt.
When sending the notice by certified or registered mail, add five (5) additional calendar days to the notice period to account for variability in post office delivery times.
- 1 FL Stat § 83.57
When the tenancy is from quarter to quarter, by giving not less than 30 days’ notice prior to the end of any quarterly period.Source Link
- 2 FL Stat § 83.56
The delivery of the written notices required by subsections (1), (2), and (3) shall be by mailing or delivery of a true copy thereof or, if the tenant is absent from the premises, by leaving a copy thereof at the residence. The notice requirements of subsections (1), (2), and (3) may not be waived in the lease.Source Link
- 3 Florida Court Rules of Civil Procedure - Rule 6
Additional Time after Service by Mail. When a party may or must act within a specified time after service and service is made by mail, 5 days are added after the period that would otherwise expire under subdivision (a).Source Link