A residential lease agreement in Fort Worth is a written agreement between a landlord and a tenant. This document outlines the terms and conditions surrounding the use of a rental property in exchange for regular payments.
Residential Lease Agreement Requirements in Fort Worth
Fort Worth currently has one mandatory disclosure that landlords must include in all lease agreements.
For multi-family residences consisting of three or more units, landlords must include a crime-free addendum in their residential lease agreement. Violation of this addendum could result in immediate termination of the tenancy.
Landlord-Tenant Rights and Regulations in Fort Worth
When it comes to landlord-tenant rights, landlords should be aware of the following:
The City of Fort Worth requires landlords to notify tenants if their failure to pay utility bills will result in a shut-off. The landlords must wait 7 days, then provide a 5-Day Notice to pay. If the terms of this notice are not met, the landlord may shut off the utility.
Optional Lease Agreement Disclosures and Addendums in Fort Worth
While not mandatory, landlords can add specific disclosures and addendums to their leases. This helps outline the responsibilities of the tenant and can prevent future liability issues.
Due to its humid climate, Fort Worth is more prone to mold than other cities in Texas. If landlords choose not to include this disclosure, they may be liable for future mold-related damage.
Medical Marijuana Use Disclosure
Medical marijuana is legal in Fort Worth—which is why it’s important to disclose if it will be permitted on the property. Texas law allows landlords to restrict marijuana usage to non-smoking methods only. Clarify if there are designated smoking areas on the premises.
Since Texas is listed among the top states for asbestos exposure, landlords should include a disclosure stating if asbestos is present on the property. If asbestos is present, tenants should take precautions to minimize the chance of disturbing the asbestos fibers.
Summary of Required Lease Disclosures for the State of Texas
- Landlord’s Name and Address – The landlord must include their name and mailing address on the lease. This informs tenants of where to send any future legal notices or demands.
- Parking Rules – Texas landlords who enforce parking rules must provide a copy of the rules in the rental agreement.
- Late Fee – In Texas, rent is considered late after 2 days. Landlords must outline late fees in the rental agreement in order for them to be enforceable. Late fees may include an initial fee and a daily fee for each day the tenant’s rent is unpaid.
- Emergency Phone Number – Texas requires landlords to provide a 24-hour emergency phone number that can be used to report emergencies within the building. Management should include this information in the lease and post it outside of their office.
- Right to Repair and Deduct – Texas landlords must provide documents that express, in clear language, the tenant’s right to repair and deduct.
- Lead-Based Paint – Federal law states that any home built before 1978 must disclose the risks associated with lead-based paint.
- Flooding – As of January 2022, the State of Texas requires landlords to disclose flood risk information for a rental property.