- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in New Jersey at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in New Jersey for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in New Jersey at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in New Jersey for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A New Jersey lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in New Jersey. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in New Jersey.
New Jersey Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- With a fixed-term lease, the tenant will not need to provide notice when they are planning to leave at the expiration of the rental agreement.
- When a tenant has a year-to-year lease that automatically renews, they will need to provide the landlord with a notice of three months when they are looking to vacate the premises.
- A tenant will need to provide a one-month notice with a month-to-month rental agreement.
- With a week-to-week lease, the tenant will need to give the landlord a seven-day notice before they vacate.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in New Jersey
- Breaking a lease can be done without penalty in the state of New Jersey when the tenant is starting active duty in the military.
- Tenants who are suffering from a debilitating illness and can no longer live alone can break the lease as well.
- A tenant who is a victim of domestic violence will have the right to terminate their rental agreement early.
- If the rental violates the New Jersey Safety or health codes, the terms of the lease can be broken.
- Tenants who have had their rights violated by the landlord will also be permitted to break the terms of the lease without facing repercussions.