The Oregon commercial lease agreement is a contract between a landlord and business entity. It allows the business to occupy commercial spaces, such as offices, retail stores, and industrial locations in exchange for rent. This type of lease is often longer than a residential lease.
Oregon Commercial Landlord-Tenant Law
The Oregon laws for commercial landlord-tenant issues are found in Oregon Revised Statutes Volume 3, Chapter 91.
Here are some interesting Oregon commercial laws:
- 10-Day Termination for Unpaid Rent: If a commercial tenant does not pay the rent within 10 days that it is due (or other longer limit stated in the lease agreement), then this automatically terminates the lease. There is no need to give any notice to pay rent or quit. The landlord can immediately start the eviction process after waiting only 10 days (section 91.090).
- No Notice Required for Fixed-Term Lease: If a lease has a fixed term, then it automatically ends on its termination date and no notice is required (section 91.080).
- Ejectment: If a person who is not a tenant refuses to vacate a commercial property, then they are removed by ejectment, not eviction (section 105.005).