- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Rhode Island at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Rhode Island for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Rhode Island at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Rhode Island for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A Rhode Island lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Rhode Island. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- With a fixed-term lease, the tenant will not be required to give notice when they are vacating at the end of the term.
- When the tenant has a year-to-year lease, the tenant will need to provide the landlord with a three-month notice before they can vacate.
- A month-to-month tenancy will require the tenant to provide a notice of 30 days before vacating the property.
- With a week-to-week rental agreement, the tenant will need to provide a notice of at least 10 days before they move out.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Rhode Island
In the state of Rhode Island, there are some reasons that would be justified for a tenant to break the lease that they have agreed to. These situations include:
- Any tenant who is starting service in a uniformed branch of the military will be able to end their lease with a notice of 30 days.
- If the landlord is violating the rights of the tenant by entering the premises without notice, the tenant may end the rental agreement.
- When the property is not livable, or it violates the safety and health codes of the state, the tenant can move out without being required to pay the rent.
- Any tenant that is over 65 may terminate the rental agreement to live in a location that has assisted living for senior citizens.