Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Form

Last Updated: December 21, 2023 by Rukshani Lye

Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Template_1 on iPropertyManagement.com

What is a Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, a quitclaim deed is used to transfer property from the current owner (“Grantor”) to a new owner (“Grantee”).

With a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island, the Grantor can provide legal protection against title issues using a “quitclaim covenant.” It guarantees the period during which the Grantor owned the property. However, the quitclaim covenant is not often used in Rhode Island, and the ownership period warranty is excluded.

Read more

What is the Difference Between a Quitclaim Deed and a Warranty Deed in Rhode Island?

The main difference between quitclaim deeds and warranty deeds in Rhode Island is that a quitclaim deed provides less security to the new owner.

Warranty deeds ensure the Grantor’s complete ownership of the property, free from any title issues throughout its history.  In contrast, a quitclaim deed only transfers the Grantor’s current interest in the property. Even with a covenant, it can only guarantee ownership during a specific period.

Warranty deeds are mostly used for real estate transactions in Pennsylvania. Quitclaim deeds, on the other hand, are typically used to transfer property between trusted parties, like family and friends.

Read more

How Do Quitclaim Deeds Work in Rhode Island?

Laws surrounding quitclaim deeds are found in Chapter 34 of the Rhode Island Legislature, titled Property.

In Rhode Island, a quitclaim deed has specific language, transferring the title from the Grantor to the Grantee, including the quitclaim covenant.

The quitclaim deed must be filed with the Recorder of Deeds in the city or town where the property is located. In Rhode Island, land records are processed locally, not at the county level.

Can You Prepare Your Own Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island?

You can prepare your own quitclaim deed in Rhode Island. A professional drafter is not legally required.

Rhode Island Quitclaim Deed Requirements

Rhode Island quitclaim deeds are required to be fully in writing and include all of the following:

  • Grantor’s name and address.
  • Grantee’s name and address.
  • The names of signatories must be printed below their signatures.
  • Consideration – the price paid. If it’s not a sale, the deed must specify this.
  • The property’s address.
  • Property legal description.

Who Signs a Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island?

For a quitclaim deed to be legally valid in Rhode Island, it must be signed by the Grantor. The Grantor must sign in the presence of a notary.

How to File a Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island

Here’s how to file a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island:

  1. Prepare the quitclaim deed with the information required.
  2. Ensure the Grantor signs the quitclaim deed, acknowledged by a notary.
  3. File the quitclaim deed with the Recorder of Deeds in the city/town where the property is located.

How Much Does it Cost to File a Quitclaim Deed in Rhode Island?

The fee to file a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island is $84. Each additional page will be charged at $1 per page.

note
There may be additional charges depending on the city or town.

What Taxes Are Owed on Quitclaim Deeds in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, the transfer of a property through a quitclaim deed triggers the following taxes:

  1. Real Estate Tax for consideration up to $800,000: Tax rate is $2.30 for every $500 (or fraction) paid for the property.
  2. Additional Tax on High-Value Residential Property over $800,000: Tax rate is an additional $2.30 for every $500 (or fraction) paid for the amount over $800,000.

Read more

How Long Does a Quitclaim Deed Take to be Recorded in Rhode Island?

The length of time to record a quitclaim deed in Rhode Island varies greatly depending on the processes, procedures, and population of each county.

What Happens After a Quitclaim Deed is Recorded in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, once the quitclaim deed is signed and filed, the county will process the document. If the deed is clear of any previous filings, a public record of the transfer of the property’s ownership will be made official.

How Long Are Quitclaim Deeds Valid For in Rhode Island?

There is no expiration for quitclaim deeds in Rhode Island. However, the statute of limitations for breaching a contract in Rhode Island is 10 years.

Sources