- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Utah at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 15 days prior to a payment date in Utah for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Utah at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 15 days prior to a payment date in Utah for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A Utah lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Utah. State law requires giving at least 15 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Utah.
Utah Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- When a tenant has a fixed-term rental agreement that has a specific end date, they will not be required to send a notice to the landlord.
- A tenancy that is continuous without a specific end date will need the tenant to provide the landlord with a notice of 15 days.
- When a tenant has a month-to-month rental agreement that automatically renews, they will need to give the landlord at least a 15-day notice before vacating the premises.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Utah
- If the tenant starts serving in active military duty, they will be able to break the lease justifiably. It must be a uniformed branch of the military, and once the notice is delivered, the tenancy will terminate 30 days later.
- If the rental unit is uninhabitable, the tenant will not be required to continue paying the rent. This means that the unit breaks safety and health codes that have been set by the state. The tenant must follow the procedure outlined in Utah Code Ann. § 57-22-6.
- In the state of Utah, the landlord will be required to provide a 24-hour notice before entering the premise. If this notice is not provided, the landlord is violating the privacy rights of the tenant, which means the tenant can break the rental agreement.
- The tenant can also be released from their obligation to pay rent when the landlord is harassing them. This can include turning off the utilities, changing the locks, or removing the door to the unit.
- Any tenant who is a victim of domestic violence will not be held to the terms of the lease.