A Wyoming lease termination notice is a document that officially announces the upcoming end of a rental tenancy. Either a landlord or tenant may give notice, in most cases at least 30 days in advance.
Types of Wyoming Lease Termination Notice Forms
|30 Day Notice To Vacate
|Periodic / Fixed Term
|60 Day Notice To Vacate
|Fixed Term / Notice of Non-Renewal
Wyoming 30 Day Notice To Vacate
A Wyoming 30 Day Notice To Vacate form terminates month-to-month tenancies and most tenancies without specific agreed notice periods. This form may also serve as notice of non-renewal with no lease or an expired lease.
This type of termination provides notice at least thirty (30) calendar days before the end of the following rental period or expiration of the lease. Wyoming has no state statutes about notice periods, so local ordinances or agreements in the lease will control in most cases.
Wyoming 60 Day Notice To Vacate
A Wyoming 60 Day Notice to Vacate may be used by the landlord or the tenant to terminate a rental agreement on the expiration date. This letter may also be used as a notice of non-renewal of a lease that requires more than a 30-day advance notice period.
How To Write a Lease Termination Notice in Wyoming
To ensure the legal compliance of a lease termination notice:
- Use the full name of the receiving party, and address of record, if known
- Specify the termination date of the lease or tenancy
- Fill in the full address of the rental premises
- Provide updated/current address and phone number information
- Print name and sign the notice
- Complete the certificate of service by indicating the date and method of notice delivery, along with printed name and signature
It is easy to lose an otherwise justified legal action because of improper notice. Check carefully to ensure enough time after notice is delivered, not when it’s sent.
How To Calculate Expiration Date in Wyoming
The “clock” for a lease termination notice starts “ticking” the day after the notice gets delivered (served). For example, to give at least 30 days of notice and terminate a tenancy as of June 30th, delivery of the termination letter must be no later than May 31st.
In most jurisdictions, if the last day of a notice period is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period continues to run until the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
How To Serve a Lease Termination Notice in Wyoming
Wyoming landlords and tenants may deliver a lease termination notice using any of these methods:
- Hand delivery to the other party
- Mailing the notice via registered or certified mail
Mailed notice extends the notice period by (4) calendar days, to account for variable delivery times.