Wyoming Lease Termination Notices

QUICK LINKS

Purpose. A Wyoming lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is not a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Wyoming.

Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Wyoming.
At “at-will” rental agreement, which does not have a termination date, or a month-to-month lease requires that the landlord and the tenant give notice to each other with a termination letter. Either party can terminate the lease at any time.

Wyoming Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant

For a weekly rental agreement, the termination notice given by a tenant must be at least seven days. For a monthly or longer agreement, the termination notice required is 30 days.

Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Wyoming

In Wyoming, a tenant can legally terminate a lease early, without penalty, for these reasons:

  • Inhabitability: If the rental unit is subject to health and safety violations that make it uninhabitable, a tenant can terminate the lease, without penalty, by first giving the landlord a 30-day notice and allowing the landlord that amount of time to fix the problem before vacating (WY Stat § 1-21-1203 (2018)).
  • Military Duty: If a tenant is called up for active duty service in the military, the tenant can terminate a lease early, without penalty, by giving the landlord a 30-day notice that starts from the next due date for the rent (50 U.S.C. app. §§ 501).
  • Domestic Violence: A victim of domestic violence can terminate a lease early, without penalty, by giving the landlord a seven-day notice.

Other circumstances, such as landlord harassment, may be sufficient legal cause to terminate a lease early, without penalty. This would have to be decided by a judge.