If a landlord in Maine does not return the security deposit within 21-30 days from the move out date, the tenant must provide notice of legal action to the landlord to recover the deposit at least 7 days prior to taking legal actions. Failure to comply constitutes wrongful retaining and the tenant stands to recover double the security deposit in damages, plus legal fees.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Maine Security Deposit Law answers.