- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Rhode Island state landlords can raise rent if there’s appropriate notice provided.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Rhode Island landlords must provide 30 days’ notice from next rent due date and 60 days for tenants over 62 years old.
- Bounced Check Fees. Rhode Island state landlords may charge up to $25 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Rhode Island landlord must abide by the conditions of the lease agreement. To raise rent on an “at-will” tenant, a landlord must provide the appropriate amount of notice.
When is it Illegal to Raise Rent?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Rhode Island landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
It is also illegal for a Rhode Island landlord to increase rent in retaliation if a tenant files a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property, or joining or organizing a tenant’s group.
Is there a Rent Increase Limit?
Rhode Island does not regulate the amount that a landlord may increase rent.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
In Rhode Island, a landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice when seeking to increase rent on an “at-will” tenant. If the tenant is over the age of 62, the landlord must provide a 60-Day Notice increasing rent. (R.I. Gen. Law § 34-18-16.1)
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Rhode Island doesn’t dictate how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Rhode Island does not have specific statutes regarding late fees. Landlords must include information on late fees in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees
If rent remains unpaid for 30 days after the tenant has been made aware of the return of the rental payment and receives a notice demanding payment, the landlord may charge the tenant up to a $25 collection fee. The landlord may also request up to three times the amount of the check. (Rhode Island Statute 6-42/6-42-3)
Cities in the State With Rent Control
Rhode Island has no legislation limiting the amount that a landlord may ask for rent. Case law in the state has preempted the ability of local municipalities to enact ordinances regulating rent. (Girard V Town of Allenstown)