In Tennessee, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by TN Code § 66-35-101-103. This state preempts rent control and preempts mandatory inclusionary zoning. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||10% of the rent|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Tennessee?
A Tennessee landlord must abide by the lease agreement. Therefore, a landlord must generally wait until the end of the term of the lease to increase the amount of rent.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Tennessee?
It is illegal for a Tennessee landlord to increase rent in retaliation when a tenant has complained to him/her about a violation or used legal remedies available to him/her in regard to a rental property. (TN Code 66-28-514)
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Tennessee landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Tennessee?
The state of Tennessee does not regulate the amount that a landlord may increase rent.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Tennessee?
Although the state provides no specific laws on the amount of notice that must be provided to a month-to-month tenant, it is customary that a landlord provide the same amount of notice to end tenancy. A landlord should provide at least a 30-Day Notice before a rent increase.
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Tennessee?
Tennessee does not regulate the frequency with which a landlord may seek to increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Tennessee
A Tennessee landlord may charge up to 10% of the past due rent amount beginning on the 5th day after rent became due. If the 5th day of the grace period is on a Sunday or on a legal holiday, the landlord must wait until the next business day to collect the late fee. (TN Code § 66-28-201) Late fees should be disclosed in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Tennessee
A Tennessee landlord may charge up to $30 for payments returned for insufficient funds. (TN Code 47-29-102).
Tennessee Cities With Rent Control
The state of Tennessee has no legislation controlling the amount of rent a landlord may charge. Tennessee legislation preempts rent control and preempts mandatory inclusionary zoning. (TN Code § 66-35-101)