Vermont Rent Increases & Fees

Last Updated: May 6, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Vermont state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. Vermont landlords must provide 60 days’ notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Vermont state landlords may charge any amount for late payment if it’s in the lease.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A Vermont landlord must abide by the lease agreement. Therefore, a landlord must wait until the end of the term of the lease to increase rent. Landlords should follow the proper notice requirements when increasing rent.

Questions? To chat with a Vermont landlord tenant attorney, Click here

When is it Illegal to Raise Rent?

According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Vermont landlord to increase rent based on the race, religion, nation of origin, sex, age, sexual orientation, marital status, disability status, family makeup, or gender identity of a tenant.

It is illegal for a landlord to retaliate against a tenant by raising rent if the tenant complains to a governmental agency regarding a building or housing violation or becomes a member or organizes a tenant’s union.

Is there a Rent Increase Limit?

Vermont does not legislate the amount that a landlord may increase rent.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

A Vermont landlord must provide a minimum of 60 Days’ Notice before increasing the rent. The notice can sent via mail or through hand delivery. (9 V.S.A. § 4455)

The landlord must give at least a 90 days’ notice for an increase in rent for rental properties in Burlington. (Code of Burlington 18-304)

For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Vermont doesn’t regulate how often a landlord can increase rent.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

A Vermont landlord may only charge tenants for the actual charges he/she incurred due to the tenant’s rent being paid late (Vermont Renter’s/Landlord’s Guide). Any late fee charges should be in the lease agreement.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees

Vermont does not legislate how much a landlord can charge for insufficient funds. (8 V.S.A. § 10505)

Cities in the State with Rent Control

Vermont has no legislation limiting the amount that landlords may charge for rent. The state does have legislation in place preempting rent control laws.