- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. West Virginia state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, West Virginia landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. West Virginia state landlords may charge up to $25 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A West Virginia landlord is bound by the terms of the lease, and may increase rent after the lease has ended. Although the state has no specific legislation regarding notice for increasing rent on a tenant renting without benefit of a written lease, it is generally considered appropriate to provide the same notice required to end tenancy (West Virginia Code 37-6-5).
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a West Virginia landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
The state of West Virginia does not legislate the amount of rent a landlord may charge.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
A West Virginia landlord is required to provide a 30-Day Notice before increasing rent on a month-to-month tenant and a 7-Day Notice before increasing rent on a weekly tenant (West Virginia Code 37-6-5).
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
West Virginia does not legislate the frequency with which a landlord may increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
West Virginia does not legislate late fees. However, a landlord must disclose all potential fees in the written lease (West Virginia Code 37-6A-2 (2)(1)).
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A West Virginia landlord may charge up to $25 for a check returned for insufficient funds.
Cities in the State With Rent Control
The state of West Virginia has no legislated rent control. The state is considered a Dillion Rule State.