We collected and reviewed the best free Alaska residential lease agreement templates from around the web (see table below). Additionally, read further for information about required state disclosures, optional addendums and more.
The below residential lease agreement template has been vetted to make sure it includes the only universally required disclosure in the state of Alaska: (1)fields for listing the acting landlord’s name & address. Additionally, there are two conditional disclosures you may need to add to your template: (1) for units built prior to 1978: a lead-based paint disclosure, and (2) for units in mobile home parks: all capital improvements required to be made by the tenant (including skirting and utility hook-ups).
Caution: USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. Templates listed below may not be up to date for 2019 and are not attorney-vetted for all legally required details & protection specific to your unit(s). See details below table.
|Organization||Year Created||# of Pages||File Format||Link|
“Should I even use a free lease agreement template?”
If you are a tenant simply looking to formalize your renting relationship, the above options will suffice. If you are a landlord, we seriously caution the use of free “one size fits all” templates due to the opportunity cost of an incorrect or incomplete lease agreement (think: premature lease breaking, fines for non-disclosures, etc.).
With that said, unless you’re renting out 100+ units, you probably don’t need to spend a few hundred dollars of an attorney’s time to get one drafted. A few different law startups have created step-by-step legal document wizards that take 5-10 minutes, and only run you ~$30 for a lease agreement (or a few bucks a month for access to all document templates you’d need). After reviewing the best available, we liked LegalTemplates.net the best. You can find their Alaska residential lease agreement template by clicking “Create Document” below.
Quick Facts for Alaska
Max Security Deposit
Cannot exceed 2 month’s rent, except when monthly rent is beyond $2,000
Who Needs to Sign
Landlord/Landlord-manager and all tenants
Landlord identification, Capital improvements (for mobile home units), Lead-based paint disclosure
Legal Early Termination
Under Alaska Landlord & Tenant Act, either the landlord or the tenant can terminate the tenancy by giving the proper notice. A landlord may end a renter’s tenancy early for late rent, deliberately inflicting substantial damage to the premises, illegal activity, failing to pay utility bills, and breach of duties, among others.
Addendums to Consider
What’s in an Alaska Residential Lease Agreement?
To start, let’s make sure we’re on the same page:
A residential lease is a legally binding agreement between a landlord and a tenant who intends to rent a specific property. This document details the specifics of the housing agreement, with information that the tenant is required to know by law, as well as specifics of the housing arrangement, such as how long the tenant intends to live on the property. It may also cover certain situations, such as bed bugs, pet regulations, notice to vacate, and other legal matters that may need to be discussed between the landlord and the tenant. Most importantly, it provides the tenant with the information needed to legally move into the apartment or housing unit and outlines the monthly cost of living. It provides details on what property management is responsible for, as well as what the tenant is responsible for, and outlines the rights of the tenant and landlord if any parts of the agreement are broken.
Let’s now go through what you need to include in a residential lease agreement template in Alaska. This includes:
- Basic/universal elements – these are applicable to ALL states, not just Alaska.
- Alaska-specific required disclosures – there are 2, plus 1 conditional federal disclosure.
- Optional items/sections – anything from late rent fees to pet addendums.
Basic Elements of Residential Lease Agreements in Alaska
Within the state of Alaska, landlords are required to provide certain information to tenants upon move in – many specific disclosures are required to be provided to the tenant before the tenant moves onto the premises. Therefore, it is important to ensure that you, as the landlord of the property, are aware of what information should be provided in the lease. Furthermore, it is important to ensure that you understand the foundations of the lease, as well as what information should be included on the document to ensure that your lease meets federal, state, and local requirements.
It is absolutely vital that the tenant reads and signs the agreement prior to their occupancy. There are many legalities required by the state of Alaska for both landlords and tenants, and there is information that by law the tenant must have to ensure that they are being provided with all applicable knowledge in relation to their dwellings in advance. This document will review the necessary and substantial parts of all lease agreements, as well as specific clauses and addendums that may apply to specific housing situations.
- Lease Introduction and Names of All Parties: Landlord & Tenant(s): In most cases, this will be the first section of all lease agreements. In Alaska, the landlord is required to provide the tenants with essential, primary information in regards to the tenant’s occupancy. This information is vital as it provides the names of all authorized parties on the lease. Often, it will begin with an introduction to the property and any legal terms that will follow – such as the reference of specifically named tenants as occupants throughout the lease, or the reference of the specific property owner as management. Furthermore, this is often where identifying information is included, such as the address of the property, and other applicable information such as building or unit numbers. Once this information has been provided, the names of those authorized to be on the lease and in the property are listed, as well as the contact information for property management.
It is critical that the information listed in this part of the lease is correct – all individuals who are over the age of 18 and authorized to live in the specific housing unit provided should be listed in this section of the lease to ensure that, should an incident occur, all parties living in the unit can be held responsible. This is important both for the tenants and the landlord as any activity that takes place on the property by an individual who is not on the lease may cause liability issues for the landlord. Proofread this section carefully before sending it over to your tenants to ensure all information is correct and each applicable tenant is listed on the lease.
- Terms and Limits of Occupancy: This particular section outlines the term of the lease. In many cases, leases last anywhere from 1 month to 13 months – however, depending on your housing situation, this may vary and any agreed upon length of lease should be dictated in the terms agreement. It is important to ensure that all information listed here is also correct, as it will specify the date the tenant may move into the available housing unit, as well as the specific moveout date.In many cases, this section may also dictate the timeframe in which the new resident may come pick up their keys for their unit, as well as what time the unit must be vacated by at the end of the lease unless otherwise agreed upon between the tenant and the landlord. This is important information that the tenant must have, as without this information they may extend the length of the lease.Furthermore, this section may also outline certain limitations of the lease. While in most cases, specific limits are explained in addendums throughout the lease, this is where you may outline the repercussions of lease violations, as well as the expectations should the tenant be evicted for any reason. This section will allow you to specify any expectations for the end of the lease. For instance, in this section, you may include notice time should the tenant plan to leave at the end of the lease – in most cases, this is 14-day notice; however, some landlords may require up to 30 days’ notice, depending on their specific needs.
Specific expectations may include the expectations of subletting the unit – if the tenant chooses to vacate the unit prior to the end of the lease, but finds a replacement tenant, you may outline the expectations for having sublet the lease. In many cases, landlords will require a new subletting lease form to be filled out by the new tenant(s) based upon the expectations set in the lease.
For instance, the landlord may outline in this section their rights to the eviction of the tenant for any purposes. In Alaska, it is important to note that the landlord may provide tenants who are involved in certain types of legal activity while on the premises an “unconditional quit notice” which provides them the tenants with five days (but, in some cases up to 24 hours, depending on the activity with which the individual was involved) to vacate the premises before the landlord officially files for eviction.
Beyond this, you may explain to the tenant in this section any further limits of the lease, such as any fines for specific violations. You can also use this section to reference other sections of the lease specific to any violation not able to be included in this section, for brevity.
- Rent and Utilities: Here, you may outline the specifics of each month’s rent. Typically, this explains the monthly charges that the tenant is responsible for. Specifically, it is important to list in this section the amount due each month for housing. This needs to be a specific number, such as $1200 and will specify when the payment is due. Often, this is on a monthly basis; however, depending on the agreement come to between the tenant and the landlord, the payment intervals may be different and may not be on a specific date but, for instance, on the 2nd Wednesday of each month, or every other month, based upon the previously arranged agreement.This section may also outline any fees associated with late payments – for instance, it may say that the rent is due on the first of each month, with a grace period between the first and the third, and should rent not be paid by the first of the month, a fee of $75 will be charged, with an additional $10 being charged each subsequent day the rent is not paid from that point. This is the section in which you may also choose to outline the expectations if rent is not paid – for instance, if rent is not received by the 15th of the month at 5 pm, the landlord will file for eviction unless other prior arrangements are made.Also included in this section is an explanation of the expectations for utility payments. Depending upon the housing arrangements, this section may be minimal; however, it may include a variety of information, such as the fees associated for trash pickup and removal (or valet trash, where applicable), the fees for renters insurance if the tenant is not choosing to provide that themselves, as well as fees for any included utilities such as cable or internet, and the expectation of the water bill each month depending upon whether the water usage is paid for as a utility or individually. Other fees that may be included are monthly pet fees, as well as electric, depending upon your arrangement with the tenant.
This section is important, as it lists the exact expectations (with the exception of metered bills, which will vary from month to month based on the tenant’s usages) of cost for the tenant on a month-to-month basis (or the agreed-upon interval previously mentioned in the lease.) It is important to ensure that these fees are notated exactly, as this specifies what the tenant is to pay the landlord each payment period. Furthermore, it outlines all utilities that the tenant is responsible for paying along with the rent and specifies what utility accounts the tenant will be responsible for maintaining outside of the lease.
There are multiple different bills that could be attached to the utility section, depending upon what is offered in the unit the landlord is providing. Ensure that all applicable utility fees are listed in this section to the tenant so that a clear expectation is provided for the expected overall cost per pay period.
- Security Deposits and Fees: This section outlines the expectations of deposits and other fees that will be owed upon move in, which may vary from unit to unit and will be agreed upon between the landlord and tenant prior to the leasing agreement being signed. In the state of Alaska, it is important to note that the security deposit in Alaska cannot be more than two months rent, or $2000, whichever is less. Furthermore, in this section, the landlord should outline the return of the security deposit as per Alaskan guidelines. Therefore, you must outline the return of the deposit – within 14 days if the tenant provides the proper notice, as agreed upon in the lease, and within 30 days if the tenant does not.Here you may also include any fees that are applied to the resident’s account and due at the time of move in. Such fees may include pet deposits or application fees, background checks, fees applied to the account for upgrading the unit prior to move in, and any utility activation fees that may be required. Furthermore, this section can outline the expectations of the tenant should they move out early – it can explain the fees for early termination of the lease, as well as any expectations that may be provided for early lease termination but are not due immediately upfront.
- Maintenance, Alterations, and Repairs: In this section, the landlord outlines the expectations for maintenance, as well as the notification of entry for any necessary repairs and the time frames for which maintenance and repairs should be taken care of. Also outlined in this section are any alterations in which the landlord is responsible for, as well as changes that the tenant can make to the unit upon move in.In the state of Alaska, landlords have to provide a 24-hour notice prior to entering a housing unit. In this section of the lease, this information should be provided to the tenant. Furthermore, the tenant should be provided with the proper process to request any form of maintenance, as well as what forms of maintenance the landlord is required to provide. In this section, you must also outline what constitutes tenant damage and what maintenance requests may cause an out of pocket expense to the tenant.
- Access to Property/Notice of Entry: This section will outline when the landlord may access the property, as well as all expectations and the proper method of notification of entry. As previously stated, in Alaska landlords must provide the tenants with a 24-hour notice prior to entering the dwelling. This section should outline the proper procedure for notification, as well.Primarily, this section should outline when the landlord may enter the unit and for what causes, as well as the expectations of entry from the landlord.
- Legal Restrictions/Other Rules in Alaska: In this section, any other restrictions and rules that may apply to the unit can be listed. Such restrictions may include the expectation of notification of any issues with the dwelling, as well as any legal restrictions that may apply to the unit. Any legal disclosures that may need to be made, per state laws, should be added to these sections to ensure that the tenant is provided with all information that is legally required by the state of Alaska.
Required Disclosures in Alaska
Each state’s landlord-tenant laws have different requirements for what needs to be disclosed in a residential lease agreement. Alaska is no different. There are 3 things you NEED to have included.
According to Section 34.03.080 of the Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act, “the landlord or a person authorized to enter into a rental agreement on behalf of the landlord shall disclose to the tenant in writing at or before the commencement of the tenancy the name and address of
- the person authorized to manage the premises; and
- an owner of the premises or a person authorized to act for and on behalf of the owner for the purpose of service of process and for the purpose of receiving and receipting for notices and demands.”
Capital Improvements (for Mobile Home Units)
Before entering into an agreement, mobile home park operators in Alaska are required to disclose fully in writing all capital improvements that will be required to be made by the tenant, including but not limited to skirting or utility hook-ups, before entering into a rental agreement. (AK 34.03.080.[d])
Lead-Based Paint Hazards
In the state of Alaska, on any building that was established prior to 1978, landlords are required to advise the tenants of the potential for lead paint to have been used on the premise, as well as the potential health risks that may be associated with the paint contaminants. Specifically, the landlord is required to do the following 3 things:
- Provide the tenant with an EPA-approved pamphlet about the dangers of lead-based paint (see latest pamphlet PDFs here).
- Disclose any known information concerning lead-based paint in the unit (i.e. its location, condition, etc.), and include any records or reports about the paint or its hazards. For multi-unit buildings with common areas, this includes information from building-wide evaluations.
- Fill out and attach this disclosure form to the lease.
Optional Sections to Include
Beyond the basic elements of a lease agreement and what needs to be disclosed in the state of Alaska, there are some additional details and sections you’ll also want to include.
- Pet Addendum – Having a pet policy can help you limit the number of pets allowed on the property, as well as protect your property in case of future damages. Make sure you familiarize yourself with the rules regarding service dogs and emotional support animals in rental units.
Pet Addendums in Alaska
While this is an optional section, this section will outline the expectations of any tenant who owns a pet. It defines the initial expectation of the pet owner, as well as the liability for any damages the pet may cause. Furthermore, it outlines any fees and restrictions on pets in the unit, such as limitation of the number of pets allowed in the dwelling, as well as any breed restrictions dictated by the landlord.
This section will also detail any specific information in regards to a breach of the lease for the pet information. For instance, if the tenant has too many pets in the unit, or does not properly notify the landlord of an additional pet without paying a deposit, as well as any fees that may be applied to pet damage. Moreover, this section will provide information in regards to all fees that may be accrued, such as the pet deposit, or monthly pet rent owed to the landlord in addition to the regular monthly rent.
Read our guide on pet policies and our blog post about service animal documentation for more information.
Check out our sample of a pet addendum below.
This Addendum is made on [ DATE ] between [ LANDLORD’S NAME ] (Landlord) and [ TENANT’S NAME ] (Tenant), and is understood to modify the Residential Lease for [ PROPERTY ADDRESS ] originally dated [ DATE ].
The landlord grants permission to the tenant to keep the domesticated pet(s) on the premises during the term of the lease agreement (INCLUDE LEASE START AND END DATE). The landlord may revoke permission at any time if the tenant fails to comply with any of the terms and conditions in the lease or following addendums.
2. SERVICE ANIMALS
Service, Guide, Signal, or Support animals are not “Pets” according to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), as long as the animal is being used by the tenant to support a disability or handicap, or if the tenant is training the animal(s).
If the tenant’s pet actually a Certified Service Animal or in training to be a Certified Service Animal? : _______ Yes _______ No
3. ANIMAL PROFILE
Type of Animal(s): Dog, Cat, Bird, Rabbit, Pig, Reptile, Fish (circle all that apply)
Name of Animal(s): ________________________
Weight of Animal(s): ______________________ (lbs.)
Breed of Animals(s): ______________________
Age of Animal(s): ________________________
Spayed or Neutered?: __________ Yes _______ No
Current on Vaccinations?: _______ Yes _______ No
Valid Animal Licenses?: _________ Yes _______ No
Read our guide on pet policies and our blog post about service animal documentation for more information.
Beyond what’s stated in a residential lease agreement, there are numerous laws that govern a rental arrangement. We’ll go through the most important ones below.
In the state of Alaska, the security deposit cannot exceed 2 months’ rent. Upon the termination of a renter’s tenancy, landlords have 14 business days to return the deposit after move-out; if there are deductions, landlords have 30 days. Landlords who are not able to return a tenant’s security deposit within this time frame must pay double the original deposit amount. While Alaska laws do not provide for a time frame within which a tenant must claim their deposit, landlords are expected to make a reasonable effort to contact the tenant and return it.
Lease Termination/Breaking a Lease
While Alaska’s landlord tenant law does not specify any legal grounds for terminating a lease early, it does require that tenants (either party, actually) to provide a written notice to quit, with the required number of days depending on the type of lease agreement:
- week-to-week: 14 days’ notice prior to the date of termination.
- month-to-month: 30 days’ notice
Additionally, the state’s landlord and tenant law also provides guidelines on how many days’ notice tenants can give landlords prior to terminating a lease, in cases where a landlord’s actions have given them reasonable grounds to do so:
- illegal entry on property: 10 days
- failure to maintain property: 20 days
- raising rent (for month-to-month tenants) or rejecting tenant’s request to sublet without providing a valid reason: 30 days
In case a rented property is damaged due to fire, disaster, or accident, tenants may terminate a lease immediately without having to give notice.
Below are valid reasons a landlord may evict a tenant in Alaska, along with the required number of days’ notice:
- Failure to pay rent: 7 days
- Failure to pay utility bills: 5 days
- Commitment of a crime on the rental property: 5 days
- Lease or rental agreement violations: 10 days at most (depending on gravity of offense)
- Damage to rental property: 1 day
The fastest a landlord can evict a tenant for illegal acts is immediately, via an Order of Abatement issued by the court. This is in cases where an illegal act has been identified during the course of a criminal case.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Do tenants have the right to withhold rent payments?
In Alaska individuals have the right to withhold and deduct any maintenance requests that are submitted properly to their landlord through the process written in the request guidelines. This means that the tenants have the right to withhold any rent payments and deduct the cost of any maintenance that was not covered by the landlord as outlined in the lease agreement with proper notification of the request.
What can tenants do in cases where a landlord fails to return their security deposit?
Tenants may seek help from a small claims court to get a landlord to return their deposit, up to a dollar amount of $10,000.
What are valid grounds for evicting a mobile home tenant?
According to Alaska Statutes Title 34, Chapter 3, Section 225, the following all constitute valid reasons for evicting a mobile home tenant:
- (1) the mobile home dweller or tenant has defaulted in the payment of rent owed;
- (2) the mobile home dweller or tenant has been convicted of violating a federal or state law or local ordinance, and that violation is continuing and is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of other dwellers or tenants in the mobile home park;
- (3) the mobile home dweller or tenant has violated a provision, enforceable under AS 34.03.130 , of the rental agreement or lease signed by both parties and not prohibited by law including rent and the terms of agreement; and
- (4) a change in the use of the land comprising the mobile home park, or the portion of it on which the mobile home to be evicted is located.
If a tenant is evicted under the fourth reason, Alaska laws state that landlords give “at least 270 days’ notice, or longer if a longer notice period is provided in a valid lease or required by a municipality.” Moreover, a mobile home or mobile home park dweller or tenant affected by a change in land use “shall be given a quit date not earlier than May 1 and not later than October 15; a municipality may establish a mobile home relocation fund and require that a dweller or tenant so affected by a change in land use be given a longer notice period or compensated from the fund for the cost of disconnecting, relocating, and reestablishing the dweller’s or tenant’s mobile home.”