A Louisiana eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 5 days to vacate the premises for written leases, or 20 days to vacate for verbal leases. There are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Louisiana.
Types of Louisiana Eviction Notices
Each possible ground for eviction has its own notice type. Some notices allow the tenant to fix (“cure”) the issue and continue the tenancy, while others simply state an amount of time to vacate by.
5-Day Notice to Quit (Nonpayment of Rent)
A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.
According to Louisiana law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods (if any) are addressed in the rental agreement.
Once rent is past due, the landlord must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Quit if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant 5 days to move out of the rental unit; however, for tenants who have a verbal lease, landlords are required to give their tenants 20 days’ written notice.
In Louisiana, landlords are not required to give tenants the option to pay past-due rent in full and avoid eviction. If the tenant does not move out of the rental unit by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.
The Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent should the date the rental agreement will terminate.
Get the downloadable 5-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).
5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)
A tenant can be evicted in Louisiana if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease or rental agreement.
Louisiana landlords are not required to allow tenants to correct a lease violation in these instances, but they must provide tenants with a 5-Day Notice to Quit, giving the tenant 5 days to move out of the rental unit.
Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people reside in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.
Illegal activity may be included in this category.
If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process. The notice should include the date the lease will terminate.
Get the downloadable 5-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).
5/10/30-Day Lease Termination Notice (No Lease/ End of Lease)
In the state of Louisiana, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.
Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.
The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.
- At Least One Week but Less Than One Month – If the rental term is for at least a week but less than one month, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 5-Day Notice to Quit.
- Month-to-Month – If rent is paid on a month-to-month basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 10-Day Notice to Quit.
- Longer Than One Month – If the rental term is longer than one month, landlords must give their tenants a 30-Day Notice to Quit.
If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process. The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.
Get the downloadable 5/10/30-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).
What to Include in Louisiana Eviction Notices
Louisiana state law doesn’t specify at the state level what information must be included on an eviction notice. However, it’s a good idea to include:
- The date the tenancy will terminate;
- The reason for the eviction; and
- The tenant’s name and contact information.
The landlord will also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was delivered in person.
Delivering Eviction Notices in Louisiana
In the state of Louisiana, landlords can deliver an eviction notice through one of the following methods:
- Delivering the notice to the tenant in person;
- Mailing a copy of the notice to the tenant; or
- Posting the notice on the door of the rental unit if the tenant cannot be found.
Eviction Process in Louisiana
- An eviction notice is posted by the landlord to vacate or “cure” the issue.
- If the tenant does not vacate when required to do so, a complaint is filed by the landlord with the county court.
- A hearing is held and judgment issued.
- If an eviction is granted, a Writ of Possession is posted at the property, giving final notice to the tenant to remove their belongings.
- Finally, the sheriff returns possession of the property to the landlord.
To learn more about the eviction process in Louisiana, click here.