Tennessee Eviction Notice Forms

Last Updated: January 3, 2022 by Elizabeth Souza

A Tennessee eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 14 days to pay the rent or vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Tennessee.

Types of Tennessee Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own notice type. Some notices allow the tenant to fix (“cure”) the issue and continue the tenancy, while others simply state an amount of time to vacate by.

Grounds Time Curable?
Unpaid Rent 14-Day Yes
Lease Violation 14-Day Yes
Lease Termination 10/30-Day No
Material Health/Safety Violation 3-Day No
Illegal Activity 3-Day No

14-Day Notice to Pay (Nonpayment of Rent)

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Tennessee law, rent is considered late once it’s 5 days past due.

Once rent is late, the landlord must provide tenants with a 14-Day Notice to Pay if the landlord wants to file an eviction action with the court. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 14 days to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent should include the total amount of past-due rent owed and the date by which past-due rent must be paid.

Get the downloadable 14-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

14-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate (Non-Compliance)

A tenant can be evicted in Tennessee if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease or rental agreement.

Tennessee landlords are not required to allow tenants to correct a lease violation unless the breach can be corrected by paying an amount to cover damages and repairs. In those cases, the payment must be received within 14 days of the date the notice was given to the tenant.

Otherwise, landlords must provide tenants with a 14-Day Notice to Quit, giving the tenant 14 days to move out of the rental property to avoid eviction.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

In addition, falsely claiming to need a service animal also falls under this category.

Note that illegal activity is not included under lease violations.

If the tenant fails to pay for damages and repairs within the deadline, or if the issue can’t be corrected by making a payment and remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include:

  • The specific lease violation(s);
  • What the tenant can do to remedy the violation; and
  • The date the lease will terminate if the tenant doesn’t comply within the deadline.

Get the downloadable 14-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

10/30-Day Lease Termination Notice (No Lease/End of Lease)

In the state of Tennessee, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the type of tenancy.

  • Week-to-Week – If rent is paid on a week-to-week basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 10-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Month-to-Month – If rent is paid on a month-to-month basis, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 30-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the date the tenancy will terminate.

Get the downloadable 10/30-Day Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Material Health / Safety Violation)

A tenant can be evicted in Tennessee if they violate a health, building, safety, or housing code. In these instances, the landlord is required to provide the tenant with a 3-Day Notice to Quit, giving the tenant 3 days to move out of the rental unit to avoid eviction.

Examples of material health and safety violations could include letting trash pile up inside the rental unit, providing a harbor for rodents or bugs, or even things like damaging the electrical wiring in the rental unit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may continue with the eviction process.

The notice should include:

  • The specific health and safety violation(s).
  • What the tenant can do to remedy the violation.
  • The date the lease will terminate if the tenant doesn’t comply within the deadline.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Material Health/Safety Violation form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Notice to Quit (Illegal Activity)

Tenants who are involved in illegal activity must be given 3 days’ notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

In Tennessee, illegal activity includes: 

  • Willfully or intentionally committing a violent act.
  • Endangering or threatening to endanger the health, safety, or welfare of others or their property.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice should include the specific violation the tenant has committed.

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).

What to Include in Tennessee Eviction Notices

The information required on Tennessee eviction notices varies depending on the reason for the eviction and is addressed under each notice type below. However, it’s a good idea to include:

  • The date the tenancy will terminate;
  • The reason for the eviction; and
  • The tenant’s name and contact information.

The landlord will also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand-delivered.

Delivering Eviction Notices in Tennessee

In the state of Tennessee, landlords can deliver an eviction notice through the following methods:

  • Delivering it to the tenant in person;
  • Mailing a copy to the tenant; or
  • Emailing the notice to the tenant.

Note that email is a valid form of service only if the tenant provided an email address on the rental agreement.

Eviction Process in Tennessee

  1. An eviction notice is posted by the landlord to vacate or “cure” the issue.
  2. If uncured and tenant remains, the complaint is filed and served.
  3. Hearing is held and judgment issued.
  4. If an eviction is granted, a Writ of Possession is posted at the property, giving final notice to the tenant to remove their belongings.
  5. Finally, the sheriff returns possession of the property to the landlord.

To learn more about the eviction process in Tennessee, click here.

Sources