Grab your FREE New Mexico residential lease termination notice and read further about what state-specific landlord tenant laws apply to breaking a lease in New Mexico.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
New Mexico Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- There is no notice required for a fixed-term lease agreement; when the lease ends, the tenant can move out.
- A tenant who has a month-to-month agreement will need to give the landlord a 30-day notice to vacate.
- According to statute § 47-8-37(A), when a tenant has a week-to-week rental agreement, they will need to give at least a seven-day notice.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in New Mexico
- The landlord has violated the rights of the tenant by entering the property without notice. In New Mexico, the landlord must give a 24-hour notice to enter the premises.
- The rental unit is uninhabitable according to New Mexico housing codes.
- The tenant is beginning active service in the military. All that the tenant needs to do in this case is to provide a 30-day notice to the landlord. This only applies to uniformed branches of the military.