Washington Lease Termination Notices

QUICK LINKS

Purpose. A Washington lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Washington. State law requires giving at least 20 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.

Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Washington.

Notice Requirements for Lease Termination

The required notice period for terminating periodic leases or leases without a definite term is 20 days from the end of a period of tenancy. If the rent is from month-to-month, the 20-day Notice of Termination must be given 20 days before the end of the “rental month.” For example, if the 1 month’s rent covers January 5 to February 5, then the notice must be given 20 days before February 5. But if the rental month is from the first to the last day of each month, then the notice must be given 20 days before the end of the month.

Legally Terminating a Lease Early

Here are the reasons that a tenant may legally terminate a lease early: