Kansas legally requires landlords to meet certain “habitability” requirements for all rental properties. This means that they’re responsible for providing a property that meets specific health and safety standards and for fixing issues that violate them.
What Are Considered Unsafe Living Conditions in Kansas?
In Kansas, unsafe living conditions exist when a rental property doesn’t have safe and working:
- Hot running water.
- Garbage removal (where not provided by the government).
- Supplied appliances.
- Common areas.
- Smoke alarms (at the beginning of the tenancy).
A landlord’s direct or indirect interruption of utility services may qualify as an unsafe condition, along with any other issue that substantially impacts health and safety on a property.
What Should Tenants Do Before Reporting a Violation in Kansas?
In most cases, before reporting a violation, a tenant in Kansas must notify the landlord in writing about the issue and ask him to fix it within 14 days.
How Can Tenants Report a Violation in Kansas?
Tenants in Kansas should report violations to the local office or officers responsible for housing code enforcement. The exact process depends on municipality.
|Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department
|Neighborhood Resource Center
After receiving a complaint, an inspecting officer might contact the tenant for more information. Then the officer will usually inspect the property and cite the landlord for any code violations.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Wichita?
A tenant in Wichita can report a health or safety violation by calling (316) 660-9220 or using the online form provided by the Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department. Enter contact information, describe the issue including location, and submit.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Overland Park?
A tenant in Overland Park can report a health or safety violation by calling (913) 895-6270 or using the online form provided by the OPCares service. Describe the issue, attach photographs if available, enter a location, and provide contact information. Anonymous reporting is an option.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Kansas City?
A tenant in Kansas City can report a health or safety violation by calling (913) 573-8600 or using the online form provided by the Neighborhood Resource Center. The site requires account creation. Enter personal and contact information, select and describe the issue, provide supplemental documentation if available, and submit.
What Could Happen to a Landlord After a Complaint Is Made in Kansas?
After a tenant files a complaint about unsafe living conditions in Kansas, an officer may inspect the property. The landlord must fix noted code violations, within a maximum of 30 days. Otherwise, the landlord could be fined and the local government might file to condemn the property.