- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Arizona state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Arizona landlords must provide 30 days’ notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. Arizona state landlords must disclose the amount of penalty for late rent in the lease.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A landlord may not increase rent until the lease has ended in the state of Arizona.
If an Arizona municipality institutes a transaction privilege tax on residential rent, the landlord may increase the tenant’s rent to cover this cost so long as the landlord’s right to adjust rent is covered in the lease and the landlord provides the tenant with a written 30-Day Notice. (Ariz. Rev. Stat, §33-1314)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
When is it Illegal to Raise Rent?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the race, religion, gender, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights.
Is there a Rent Increase Limit?
Arizona has no legislation limiting rent increases.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
When seeking to raise rent on a month-to-month tenant, the landlord must provide a written 30-Day Notice. A landlord must provide week-to-week tenant with a 10-Day Notice. (Arizona Tenant Rights And Responsibilities Handbook)
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Arizona has no regulations on how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
A landlord can charge a penalty fee of no more than $5 per day from the rent’s due date after the five-day grace period. A landlord can collect payment on the sixth day from the due date. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 33-1414.)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees
Arizona allows a landlord to charge up to $25 plus the amount the landlord’s bank charges to process insufficient funds. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 44-6852) This should be outlined in the lease agreement.
Cities in the State with Rent Control
Arizona preempts a city’s right to control rent on private residential housing units. Cities, charter cities and towns in Arizona don’t have the power to control rent. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 33-1329).