In Louisiana, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by LA Rev Stat § 9:3258. This state preempts rent control. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$25 or 5% of the check|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, a landlord may not increase rent during a fixed-lease term, unless agreed upon in the lease agreement.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Louisiana?
The state has no legislation regarding a landlord’s ability to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights.
However, it is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the race, religion, gender, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Louisiana?
Louisiana provides no guidance on how much a landlord may increase a tenant’s rent.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Louisiana?
Louisiana does not require a prior notice for a rent increase. However, it is customary that at least a 10-Day Notice be provided before the next month’s rent is due.
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Louisiana?
Louisiana provides no guidance on how often a landlord may seek to increase a tenant’s rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Louisiana
Although the state of Louisiana provides no guidance in the amount that a landlord may charge as a late fee, it is required that this information be outlined in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Louisiana
A landlord may add a maximum of a $25 return fee or 5% of the amount of the check (whichever is greater) to outstanding rent for a returned check. (La. Rev. Stat. 9:2782(B))
Louisiana Cities With Rent Control
The state of Louisiana has no cities with legislation regarding rent control.