In Mississippi, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by MS Code. §21-17-5. This state preempts rent control. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$40|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Mississippi?
A Mississippi landlord must follow the terms of the written lease. Therefore, rent increases during the term of a fixed lease are illegal, unless so stated in the lease. Upon the lease expiration, the landlord can demand for an increase in rent. (Miss. Code § 89-8-17)
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Mississippi?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is also illegal for a Mississippi landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Mississippi?
The state of Mississippi does not have a rent increase limit.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Mississippi?
There is no statute on the amount of prior notice that a landlord should provide for a rent increase. However, it is customary to provide a 30-Day Notice before increasing rent. (Miss. Code 89-8-19)
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Mississippi?
Mississippi does not have state statutes on how often a landlord can increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Mississippi
Mississippi has no laws regarding the imposition of late fees; however, late fees should be written in the lease agreement.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Mississippi
A Mississippi landlord may charge up to $40 for payment returned for insufficient funds. (Miss. Code 97-19-57)
Mississippi Cities With Rent Control
Mississippi law preempts rent control.