- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Montana state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended or unless the tenant agrees. .
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Montana landlords must provide 15 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. Montana state landlords may charge up to $30 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Montana landlord may not increase a tenant’s rent during the term of the lease, unless the tenant agrees to the increase. However, a landlord may increase rent once the term of the lease has ended. When renting to a tenant without benefit of a lease, a Montana landlord may increase rent so long as the appropriate amount of notice is provided.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a Montana landlord to retaliate by raising rent on a tenant for complaining to the landlord or filing a complaint with the appropriate governing agency regarding the health or safety of the property or for organizing or joining a tenant’s union (MCA 70-24-431). According to legislation, a landlord will be presumed to be acting in retaliation if he/she attempts to increase the rent within six months of the tenant exercising any of these rights.
It is illegal for a Montana landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
Montana does not provide legislation limiting the amount that rent can be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
Recent legislation in the state of Montana decreased the amount of notice a landlord must provide before increasing rent on a month-to-month tenant. The landlord is now required to provide a 15-Day Notice before increased rent can be expected (MAC 70-26-109)
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
The state of Montana does not legislate the frequency with which rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Montana has not legislation regarding late fees for rental payments.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A Montana landlord may charge a tenant up to a $30 fee when payment is returned for insufficient funds (MAC 22-1-717 (2)(3)).
Cities in the State With Rent Control
The state of Montana has no legislation regarding rent control. There is also no legislation preempting rent control in this state.