In Nebraska, there is no rent control, and the state does not preempt rent control. If proper notice is given, landlords can set rent and increase it, although certain restrictions to increase rent may apply. Nebraska rent increase law is primarily governed by NE Code § 76-1490.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||$5|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$10 + bank charges|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in Nebraska?
A Nebraska landlord may not increase rent during the term of the lease, unless otherwise stated in the lease agreement. A landlord may increase rent on an “at-will” tenant so long as the appropriate notice is provided. (Nebraska Landlord/Tenant Handbook).
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in Nebraska?
Nebraska law makes it illegal for a landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant complaining to a government agency about code violations or for becoming a member of a tenant’s group (NRS 76-1439).
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act it is also illegal for a Nebraska landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in Nebraska?
Nebraska does not have state statutes the amount rent may be increased.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in Nebraska?
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Nebraska?
Nebraska does not legislate the frequency with which rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in Nebraska
A Nebraska landlord may charge a late fee up to $5 for a late monthly rental payment. (NRS 69-2110)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in Nebraska
A landlord may charge $10 plus charges imposed by the landlord’s bank when rental payment is returned. (NRS 28-611)
Nebraska Cities With Rent Control
Nebraska has no laws regarding rent control. There is also no state legislation preempting rent control.