In South Carolina, the regulation of rent is primarily governed by SC Code § 27-39-60. This state preempts rent control. The law bans rent control throughout the state, allowing all landlords to set rent and increase it with proper notice.
|Minimum Notice for Rent Increases||No Statute|
|Max. Late Fee||No Statute|
|Max. Bounced Check Fee||$30|
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent in South Carolina?
A South Carolina landlord must abide by the terms of the written lease. Generally, a landlord cannot increase rent in the middle of the lease but may increase rent at renewal. If the lease agreement contains circumstances in which rent may be increased, such as when a pet of roommate is added to the lease, both parties must follow the terms related to these increases.
When Is It Illegal to Raise Rent in South Carolina?
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a South Carolina landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
It is also illegal for a South Carolina landlord to increase rent in retaliation if a tenant files a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property or joins or organizing a tenant’s group.
A landlord who rents more than four adjoining units on the premises may increase rent without a presumption of retaliation if the increase applies to all tenants and does not exceed the fair-market value. (SC Code § 27-40-910)
Is There a Rent Increase Limit in South Carolina?
South Carolina doesn’t regulate the amount that a landlord may increase rent.
How Much Notice Is Needed for Raising Rent in South Carolina?
There is no state statute on how much notice a landlord must provide a tenant when increasing rent; however, it is recommended to provide at least a 30-Day Notice before increase rent is expected. (South Carolina Rental Law).
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in South Carolina?
The state of South Carolina doesn’t dictate the frequency with which a landlord may increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees in South Carolina
The state of South Carolina has no legislation regulating late fees. However, South Carolina does mention that late fees can be considered as “rent” for the purpose of collections. (SC Code § 27-40-210 (11)).
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees in South Carolina
In the state of South Carolina, a landlord may charge a tenant up to $30 for any check or draft returned for insufficient funds (SC Code § 34-11-70).
South Carolina Cities With Rent Control
The state of South Carolina has no legislation limiting the amount a landlord may charge for rent. However, state law does indicate that no county or municipality can enact, enforce, or maintain any ordinance regulating, in any way, the amount of rent one can charge for privately owned rental property (SC Code § 27-39-60).