- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Virginia state landlords can raise rent upon renewal or at any time with the appropriate notice.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. No specific statue; however, it is customary for Virginia landlords to provide 30 days’ notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. A late fee of no more than 10% of the monthly rent or 10% of the unpaid balance, whichever is less, can be collected.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Virginia landlord may increase rent at the time of a lease renewal, or he/she may increase rent at any time on a month-to-month tenant so long as the appropriate notice is provided.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a Virginia landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant filing a complaint regarding the health, safety, or housing code violations with the appropriate agency, joining a tenant’s group, or testifying against his/her landlord in a court proceeding. (Code of Virg. § 12: 55.1-1258).
According to the Federal Fair Housing Act, it is illegal for a Virginia landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant.
Is there a Rent Increase Limit?
The state of Virginia does not regulate the amount that landlords can charge for rent.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
There is no specific statute on how much prior notice is needed for a rent increase; however, it is customary to provide a 30-Day Notice before the increased rental amount may be expected.
For a FREE rent increase notice template, click here.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Virginia does not regulate the frequency with which landlords may increase rent.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Landlords can collect a late fee if rent is not paid on time. In Virginia rent is considered late if left unpaid on the fifth of the month. A late fee of no more than 10% of the monthly rent or 10% of the unpaid balance, whichever is less, can be collected. Any late fee should be disclosed in the lease agreement. (Code of Virg. § 55.1-1204)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check Fees
Virginia state landlords may charge an interest of the returned check plus $50 processing fee for bounced checks.
Cities in the State with Rent Control
Virginia has no laws controlling the amount a landlord may charge for rent. The state does have legislation in place that preempts legislation seeking to control rent or stabilize rental amounts.