A Georgia month-to-month lease agreement is a contract (written or oral) that allows a tenant to rent property from a landlord, in exchange for a fee (“rent”), for a period of thirty days at a time. The agreement remains active until either party gives proper notice to end it.
Note: For fixed term leases in Georgia (i.e., 1-year), click here.
How do Georgia Month-to-Month Lease Agreements Work?
A landlord and tenant can enter into a month-to-month lease through a written contract or oral agreement. It does not have to be written.
Once the lease is active, both parties are given full rights under Georgia landlord tenant law. This includes the landlord’s responsibility to provide a living space, the tenant’s responsibility to pay rent in a timely manner and all other rights and responsibilities.
How Much Notice is Needed to End the Lease?
In Georgia, a landlord may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 60 days’ notice and a tenant may terminate a month-to-month lease agreement by giving at least 30 days’ notice.
Notice must be provided in written form.
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise the Rent?
In Georgia, the law does not specify notice requirements for a rent increase. Typically, a landlord will give advance notice to the tenant.
How are Month-to-Month Tenants Evicted in Georgia?
After the landlord gives proper notice, and that period of time elapses, the lease expires and is no longer active.
If a tenant remains on the property after lease expiry, the landlord may move forward with the eviction process to remove the tenant by filing a complaint with the applicable county court in Georgia. The process for eviction can be completed in 1-3 months but can take longer depending on the circumstances.
For more information on the eviction process in Georgia, click here.